Page images
[merged small][graphic][merged small][graphic][subsumed][merged small][ocr errors]
[ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]


Feb. l. minals were executed at a place . VINGHOE, or Ivingo, co. Bucks, called Gallows Knot.-A large round

seven miles South East from Dun- house, which stood in the middle of stable, near the Chiltern Hills, is a the town, was pulled down about 20 vicarage in the hundred of Cotslow and years ago, with a cage and stocks beDeanery of Muresley, in the presen- neath, in consequence of a fire in the tation of the Bridgewater family; ra town, and has not since been erected. ted in the King's books at 121. 165. 1d. The Church (sťe Pl. I.) is an antient and is a discharged living, of the Gothic structure, ofthe cruciform plan, clear yearly value of 361. 16s. 6 d. standing, originally, in the centre of

The old Roman road, called the the houses. It is a lofty building, Ikenild Way, which runs through but small. At a distance it looks the kingdom from Portsmouth to like a small cathedral, the shell being Tynmouth Haven, passes very near a fine piece of good-proportioned this place, but is impassable in win- architecture, as observed by Browne ter or very wet weather for carriages. Willis when he visited it. The side

Ivinghoe is seated low, but dry, on ailes are not so long as they are bigh, a rock of ragstone, an uniuclosed, being nearly the height of the nave. open track of land extending from It consists of a nave, two side ailes, Dunstable to Tring. The air is pure, North and South aile, and chancel, blowing continually fresh from the with a strong square embattled tower Downs. The town has evidently been in the intersection of nave, North of much larger extent than at present. and South ailes, chancel, &c. surOn removing some earth lately by mounted with a moderate spire covera the plough, a scull and bones were ed with lead ; a handsome lofty porch dug up on a place called Windmill at the West end, having an embattled Hill; and some have been found in parapet crowned with the arms of cellars in all parts of the town when Edward, France and England quardigging.

tered on a plain shield, with crown Henry of Bloys, in France, or and supporters, two lions apparently, Henry de Blois, bishop of Winches- placed in the front, carved in stone, ter, made this, among others, his as also a cross over it. Above this place of residence, as we find on re- porch is the large West window, concord. He built a seat here called taining four lights, with lofty mullivns Berrystead House, which has long and ramified head, over which is a niche been converted into a farm-house ; for the Virgin, &c. and above that and all that remains is an old kitchen another stone cross, neatly wrought, with a two-tuonel fire-placc, the tun- and porch North and South. The nels built lozenge ways. It being the nave has a series of five windows of manor house, the court leet and baron three lights each. The whole pile has is held in a large room in it, twice a an embatuled parapet, except ihe side year. It is situated in the South East aile', which are plain, most of them corner of the church-yard, and is now leaded for preservation, as is the the property of the Earl of Bridge. roof entirely, buttresses, projections, water, lord of the manor.

&c. The tower rises two stories above The above De Blois had the grant the nave, of good proportion, with a of a Market on Thursdays for this small square tower at the North West town in 1318. The present market, corner, called by the inhabitants the if it may be so called, is held on Sa- Bushel Tower, having had a bushel torday, for butchers' meat and straw measure piaced on it, containing a plat, with two or three stalls. The fruit

tree. On the spire is a gilt ball Market-house is not much superior and weathercock. The tower story to a large tiled cow-crib! The first on the East side has two lancet winfair, on St. Margaret's, was granted dows, and several circular ones are in 1227 ; and another, on the Assump- stopped up. There are four ention of the Blessed Virgin, by the trances to the church, North, West, charter of 1318. The present fairs and South porches, and small door in are held on May the 6th and October the channel. The whole is built with 17th for cattle, and several good flint and stone grouted ; and free drapers, shoes, clothes, and other stone internal and external angles, stalls.

windows, frames, and door-cases, It bad originally a gaol, and cris all rough cast. Gent. M AG. Marchi, 1812.



The internal architecture is not In the time of king Edward the inelegant. The nave is separated from Confessor, Leofstave Abbot of St. the side ailes by two rows of octagon Alban’s gave this manor to three columns with foliage capitals, four knights, Turnoth, Waldof,and Turman; on each side, five pointed arches, but in the tiinc of William the Conque. plain mouldings, but bold. Thenave ror, Ralph deThony, Todeny, Tony,or is open to the roof, and all other parts Toni, his standard-bearer at the batof the church. The timbers and rafi tle of Hastings, held it, as appears ters are ornamented with pendant from Domesday Book : 66 In Dapais angels, particularly over the part Hund. Ralf de Todeny holdeth Flamwhere the rood-luft was, with a block stede for two hides of land.” Camand puiley, originally, I suppose, for a deu states it lo jave been granted to lamp to be suspended. The roof rests the father of Ralf. It was the chief op long posts, set on corbels of stone, place of his residence. He married curiously carved into wry faces, as if the danghter of Sinion de Moolford, they were sensible of the weight of the and dying left a sou Ralf, who mar. roof on their shoulders. The posts ried the daughter of the Earl of Hunare between the windows, and are tington and Northumberland, his heir. carved to represent the twelve Roger was his heir, and married the Apostles, not badly executed. The daughter of the Earl of Vainault. pulpit is against one of the South pil- Ralf was disinherited by king Joha lars near the transcpl, being hand. for assisting the Barons, yel came into somely carved oak, with the Resurrec favour again, and was restored by tion on the back; a thick sounding Henry III. Robert, lis successor in board carved into tracery or frel- the sixth generation, 27. Edward I. work, a reading desk and clerk's ds k obtained a charter of that king for decreasing in height. The ironi crane a market on Thursdays, and a fair and frame to place the hour-glass in on the eve, day, and morrow afler still remain. There are but fow the feast of St. Leonard, and five days pews, being chicfly very antient stalls, following. The present fair or feast the tops of which are carved in a is kept eleven days before, the marrude and irregular manner. There het has been long disused. To the is a pewly-erected gallery at the Westmanor, as Robert died 3 Edward II. end ; oil cach side of the window over without issue, Alice his sister, widow it are two remarkably fine stender of Thomas Leyborn, was found heir, columns at the cage, froin the spring and married tođuy de Beauchamp Earl ing of the arch to the bottom, with of Warwick, whose heir was the capital and base. A stouc seat ruus famous Guy, who died near Calais 43 round the back of the side ailes. A Edward III. His beirs enjoyed this a very autient stone font stands near the long time; but male isste failing, and South West corner of the nave; it is Anne danghter of the duke of Warof an octangular shape, and has wick dying, young, his sister Anne formerly had one round pillar at each inherited, who was married to Richard corner, as the tops and bottoms plain- Nevil Earl of Salisbury, who had with ly shew; thcy stood clear of the octa her the title of Earl of Warwick. This gon foot it now rests on. The whole Richard dying at Barnet field, temp. of the church is neatly paved, but Edward IV. the estate fell to the Crowi. wants a thorough repair.

His Countess, 3. Henry VII. possessed Yours, &c.

J. S. B. it again, after the death of her daugh(To be concluded in our next.)


Henry Vill. granted it to

George Ferrars and his heirs, from Foddington, Mr. URBAN

whow it came to Sir John Ferrars Bedfordshire, March 4. and Knightou Ferrars of Beyford, THE small remains of the once THE

whose daughter, Katharine, married market-town of FLAMSTED are to Thomas Lord Fanshawe. · Lord pleasantly situated on a hill about and Lady Fanshawe sold it to Serjeant twenty-seven miles on the turnpike Edward' Pecke; from him ii deroad, loading froin London to Dup

scended to William his son, of Stamstable; antiently called f'erlamstedt, ford in Essex, who left a son Willian, awing, it is supposed, to the river and he disposed of il fo Mr. Pearce, Verc, or Veruluin, or Verlume, wash- whose second son is the present lord ing the foot of the hill.

of the manor.


The Church (see Plate I.) is dedi- and daughter of Sir Samuel Dashwood, cated to St. Leonard. It is in the knight, died March 21, 1772; and her hundred of Dacorum and deanery remains are deposited in the vault in this

church.” of Berkhamsted, valued in the King's books at 411. 6s. Su, a rectory in- second son of Sir Edward Sebright, bart.

“ Edward Saunders Sebright, esq. propriate, antiently in the Crown, travelling through France, was niurderpart in the University of Oxford, ed by robbers near Calais, December and part in the Sebright family of 12, 1723, aged 25. His remains were Beechwood Park; the former grant- brought to England, and are deposited ed it by lease to them that they in the family vault in this church.” should find a curate to officiale in “ Sir Thomas Saunders Sebright, fifth the church. King James Ii grant: Baronet, son of Sir Thomas and Dame ed the reversion to trustees for Mr. Henrietta, died unmarried, October 30, Gunsty, curate therein, io 1618, by 1761, aged 38. His remains are depolease for forty-two years. The Church sited in the family vault in this church." stands high. Leland, says, that

Yours, &c.

J. S. B. riding through a thorough fair on

(To be continued.) Watling street, uot far from Mergate (Market Street) he saw in a pretty


March 1. 1. BY

Y an extract from the Oxford hand, &c." It is built in the Gothic Herald, inserted in your last Sup. style,of flints and courses of tiles (sup- plement, p. 601, you have given some posed to be Roman) alternately, part account of Clarendon House, in which plastered, with a square tower at the it is staled " that the only trace West end, surmounted with a high which the curious Autiquary will now leaded spire and vanc; and a clock find upon the spot, to indicate the iin. dial on the North side. The buildo maculate Clarendon once had possesing is uniform, consisting of a nave,

sions there, arises from the modern two side ailes, North and South adoption of a possessor of a small porch, and a chancel at the end, with piece of the land lying towards Bond a vestry on the North side, lofty Street, now distinguished as Clarens, ceiling, formerly Iwo stories, iú which don Hotel.”

From some papers is a piscina; door into the chancel, which I have seen, I am enabled to near which is a handsome monument state why this house is so distinguishby Flaxman, close to the altar, Fuilh ed. At the beginning of the last cenand Hope at top, and an urn in the tury, it was the properly of Henry centre, inscribed as follows:

Lord Dover, and was conveyed by “ Sacred to the memory of Sir Edward him as a security for money to John Sebright, third baronet, descended from Chainberlain, and described as

part William Sebright of Sebright Hall, in of the ground wherevu a Capital Mesthe county of Essex, and of Blakeshall, suage or Mansiou House, formerly in the county of Worcester, in the reign called Clarendon House, and afterof Henry II. He died December 15, wards called Albemarle House, did 1702, aged 36 years, and was interred then lately stand, or of ground to the in a family vault at Besford Court, in said late capital messuage belongthe county of Worcester. He left issue ing, lying and being in the parish of four children, Thomas, Edward, Anne, Saint Martin in the fields, on the and Helen."

West side of a certain street there call“ Dame Anne Sebright, only surviving ed Bond Street,” and is inentioned as daughter and sole heir of Thomas Sauna abutting on other grounds of the said ders, esq. of Beechwood, in the county of Hertford, and Helen Sadler, of Šope Henry Lord Dover, part of which well, in the same county, relict of Sir

werelet to the said John Chamberlain. Edward Sebright, third Baronet. She It was afterwards conveyed to Henry died December 25, 1719, aged 49 years. Edward Earl of Lichficld, in trust for Her remains are deposited in her family Barbary, Duchess of Cleveland, and vault in this church."

by her to Charles Duke of Grafton. “Sir Thomas Saunders Sebright, fourth 106 George 111. an act was passed to Baronet, died April the 12, 1736, aged enable the Duke of Grafton to sell 44. His remains are deposited in the the above premises, the same having family vault in this Church, He left been jptailed by the will of his father, issue two sons, Tbomas and John."

and they were in coosequence pur. “ Dame Henrietta Sebright, relict of chased by John Earl of BuckinghamSir Thomas Saunders Sebright, Baronet,


« PreviousContinue »