Page images



with large stones, but without any other flooring than sea-sand and earth. After extending three yards in line with the wall D, it runs east, seven yards; south, one yard; east again, two yards; north, two yards; east, ten yards ; south, two yards; east once more, one yard ; and again south, five yards, when it is lost in rubbish. One yard east of passage E there is the foundation of a rectangular building (F) measuring south, four yards ; south and east, five yards. In line with the south side extends a wall (G), east, six yards; north, eight yards ; east again, fourteen yards ; south, thirty-five yards ; west-south-west, about forty-eight yards; and north, nine yards, where it is no longer traceable. From the west side of wall G, in line with the south side of the tower, extends another wall (h), which joins and forms a right angle with the wall B.

The space enclosed by the walls B, H, and part of G, is the graveyard, which is very evident from the number of bits of bone exposed to view by the rabbits in burrowing their holes. On enlarging one of these rabbitholes, bones were discovered at about eighteen inches from the surface, which, on being further exposed, proved to be the tibiæ of a well grown man, judging from the length and thickness of them. Between the knees was found a lower jaw-bone with a well-defined chin and very regular and beautiful set of teeth, though well worn. This jaw-bone could scarcely belong to the skeleton between whose knees it was; and this, taken together with the finding of several other leg-bones on each side of the first mentioned ones, and also one of the lower vertebræ of the spine, goes far to shew that this is a very ancient and well-used burial-ground. It may here be mentioned that all the bones were very much honey-combed, and stuck to the tongue, which of course proves their antiquity. The bodies seem to have been laid at about the distance of six inches from one another, and the following the mode of interment: the body is laid at full length, about two feet below the surface, upon the bare earth, with the feet to the east; appa

rently unenclosed by either kist or coffin, and covered first with stiff yellow clay, to the thickness of about three inches, and then with small pebbles gathered from the sea-beach, which is evident from the number of whelk and limpet-shells amongst them. Over these pebbles are placed a few large stones measuring two feet in length by about one in breadth. These have formed the top of the grave, and no doubt served to mark the resting-place of the deceased.

HERFORD E. HOPPS. 19 June, 1868.


(Continued from p. 55.)


THERE can be no doubt, that Hugh de Lacy, who assisted in founding the Priory of Lanthony, endowed his foundation with the rectorial tithes of Weobley. He probably lies buried in Weobley Church. The prior and convent of Lanthony were patrons of the vicarage down to the time of the Reformation, and in the taxation under Pope Nicholas IV in 1291 for a crusade we find it stated, that “ Eccl. de Webbel.' est Prior. Lanton. pr’me (primæ) £12 Os. Od. D. (decima) £1 4s. Od. Porc'o (portio) Vicar. in eadem £5 0s. Od. D. £0 10s. Od.” 1

In the fourth year of Elizabeth 1561-2 the Advowson of Weobley together with several others was given to Bishop Scory in exchange (entirely after the manner of Diomede in his exchange with Glaucus), for certain lands heretofore belonging to the see of Hereford. In pursuance of this arrangement the patronage of the

1 Tax Eccl., 1291. The name entire is given in an assessment made 31 Ed. III (1353), on the occasion of the marriage of his eldest daughter, Isabella, to Ingelram de Coucy, viz. Wobbel; 121., D. 248.; Harl. 6765, p. 58.

[graphic][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][merged small]

vicarage remained with the Bishops of Hereford down to the time of its late alienation by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners to the Bishop of Worcester.

The value of the vicarage is given in the King's Book as £9 1s. Od., and the gross value, £26 Os. 23.1

In 1640 the vicarage was reported as worth £40, and the impropriate rectory, £100.2

There is an imperfect document in the British Museum which may perhaps bear upon this statement. It is an indenture made in 1612 by Richard Harford, of Garneston (in the parish of Weobley), and Mary his wife for £100 to be paid to Robert Bennett, Bishop of Hereford, and his executors, in fulfilment of certain conditions not named. It will be seen below, that the Harford family purchased one of the chantries at the time of its dissolution. This document may, perhaps, be part of a lease of the tithes from the Bishop of Hereford.

Blount says, that the bishop has the advowson of the vicarage, and four quarters of wheat, and four of oats paid him by Mr. Tomkins of Monington.3

There were two chantries in the Church ; one dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary which certainly existed before 1430, as in that year the patronage belonged to Thomas Barton, of Weobley, and a commission was given to John Brown, B.C.L., Dean of Weobley, to inquire into its condition during a vacancy.4

In 1446, William Coley was admitted by Bishop Spofford to the service of this Chantry, at the resignation of John Clerk, on presentation by Thomas Barton, the true patron of the said Chantry.5

October 1489, during the absence of the Bishop (Mylling) of Hereford, Henry Whitney was admitted 1. Bacon, Lib. Reg.

2 MS. ccvi, ap. C. C. C., Oxon. 3 Blount, MS. coll.

4 Reg. Spofford, p. 145. The Bartons were inhabitants of Weobley. Geoffrey Barton is mentioned in a visitation of 1569, and Thomas Barton in 1586. (Harl. 1545, 1159, p. 27. See Dansey, Hor. Dec., i, p. 311.)

5 Reg. Spofford, p. 21.

« PreviousContinue »