Tragic Instance: The Sequence of Shakespeare's Tragedies

Front Cover
University of Delaware Press, 1999 - 228 pages
0 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
"Tragic Instance follows Shakespeare's progress through his tragedies. The book accepts Kenneth Muir's prescription, "There is no such thing as Shakespearian Tragedy: there are only Shakespearian tragedies." Accordingly, each of the tragedies, from Titus Andronicus to Coriolanus, is studied in order of composition. Richard III and Richard II are included because each is described as "tragedy" on the title page. No larger unity is seen. The play is everything that is the case."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Systemic Logic
Player and King

14 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information