« PreviousContinue »
Altham from the time of Richard II. to 1694, when the last male heir died. This property had been acquired by the marriage of Richard, son of John Banastre, of Walton, with Johanna, daughter and heir of John de Alvetham. The descent of Banastre, of Bank Hall, in the township of Bretherton, is given by Mr. Baines from the time of Henry VIII. to the termination of that family in heirs female about one hundred and fifty years ago. They were the representatives of Richard Banastre, one of the inquisitors of Leyland hundred for the Gascon Scutage, in the reign of Henry III. He, with certain other parties, held one-twelfth of a knight's fee in Bretherton, which, in the time of Edward III., was in the tenure of Thomas del Bank," of Sir Thomas Banastre (K.G.), son of Adam, and of William, son of William Banastre, with others. The succession of this property enables us to place among the descendants of Richard Banastre the family of which five generations have been carefully traced by the late Mr. Beltz, in his Memorials of the Order of the Garter, from the time of Edward I. until that of Richard II., when Constance, who married William de Balderstone, was left the heiress and a minor. Sir Thomas Banastre, knight of the Garter, is the subject of his interesting memoir. This branch of the Banastres of Leyland Hundred were large proprietors in Amounderness. They held one of their estates there (Little Singleton) by great serjeantry, viz., by finding a man to serve the office of Bailiff of that Wapentake. It appears, by records not quoted by Mr. Beltz, that Joan, daughter of Alan de Singleton, and sister to Thomas de Singleton, who died sp., brought this property to Thomas Banastre, her husband, who must have been father to Sir William Banastre, with whom Mr. Beltz begins the pedigree. The arms of Sir Thomas Banastre, K. G., are ascertained by his Garter-plate, still
| Great Hoole had been given by Henry Fitz-W'm, in the time of Henry III., to Thomas Banastre, in free marriage with Agnes his daughter. Some so later, this manor was brought by Margaret, daughter of Thomas
anastre, in marriage to the Heskeths of Rufford. The pedigree of that family given in Baines's History of Lancashire, styles Thomas Banastre, father of Margaret, “Baron of Newton, Lord of Walton, and Knight of the Garter.” We do not find, however, that Great Hoole had ever formed part of the possessions of the family of the Knight of the Garter, whilst from the descent of the manors of Newton and Walton, already traced, it is evident that Thomas Banastre was not their lord. .
affixed to his stall in St George's Chapel, to have been argent, a cross circelée (flory) sable. The crest is effaced, but according to Vincent's MS. it was a peacock sejant.
Similar are the arms (argt. a cross patonce sa:) and the crest of the Bannisters, of Bank; and the same coat, with a pot in the dexter point for difference, is assigned to those of Altham. In various MSS. also, we find argent a cross flory sable quartered by the Langtons, with argent three chevrons gules. This coat of three chevrons, was also derived from the alliance with Banastre, as is proved by drawings of Robert Banastre's seals, made by Randle Holme and Dr. Kuerden. From a window in Wigan church, a shield is quoted by Randle Holme: “Argent three chevrons gules, impaling argent an eagle displayed with two heads, vert beaked and legged or;” this last being the paternal coat of Langton. Their crest of a spread eagle vert, appears to have been superseded in the case of the Barons of Newton, by one derived by Banastre, viz., a maiden, couped below the shoulders, sometimes represented as attired gules."
The Banastres of Darwen are represented to have borne a water bouget, with three fleurs de lis, or, on a chief gules; or as given by Randle Holme, in his Accademie of Armorie, “He beareth sable, two water bugs fixed to an amulet hanging saltirewise, argent. This between three flowers de lis, or, is the coat armour of Banister, of Derwyn.”
ONE of the desiderata in Welsh antiquities is a good county history of Denbighshire. The district is rich in records and remains of all kinds; and it is to be hoped that some Cambrian antiquary may be incited to undertake this useful task. The following notes relating to this county may be interesting to readers in that part of Wales. Is it true, as stated in Gorton's Topographical Dictionary, and in Leigh's Guide to Wales, that the fortress of Denbigh was blown up on the restoration of Charles II. Ž
1 In some MSS. this crest has been drawn both as borne in full face and in profile, which has led to its being given in Gregson's Fragments, and Baines's History of Lancashire, as two figures on one wreath.
There is great room for a history of the lordship of Denbigh," as may be seen from Pennant's Tour, and An Account of Denbigh, by the Rev. T. Newcombe, 1829. The corporation records might give some information regarding Leicester, &c., not published. Memoirs of celebrated men born in the county might be introduced, such as Sir Hugh Myddleton; Cleryk, the partner of Sir Thomas Gresham; Humphrey Lloyd, the antiquary, &c. The history of several mansions; as Gwaenenog, Bachegraig, Lleweny,” and that picturesque Elizabethan ruin, Foxhall; stating where the several portraits," the stained glass, or other ornaments mention by Pennant are now preserved, would be interesting.
From an observation of Pennant on the monument of Humphrey Lloyd, at Whitchurch, it would appear that he was no “herald.” He says, “a multitude of quarterings shewing his long descent;” whereas there are only four of the quarterings of Rosindale, alias Lloyd, impaling eight of Lumley, his wife. The four are Rosindale, Hilton, Tetenhall, and Peake, inherited as will be best explained by a few lines from Vincent's pedigree, at the College of Arms.
Richard Peake = (...... ) of Leweny Green.
s Thomas=Katherine Hilton (heir)
of L. G. (Richard- Y o o ) Thomas – (......) Peake 1846. sRichard = Alicia Tetenhall (heir)
! Also of Ruthin. See Memoirs of Gabriel Goodman, by the Rev. T. Newcombe, 1825. * It is believed that the heir to Sir Hugh is still being searched for. * Where did Pennant find that two of the Salusburys were executed, for levelling Leicester's encroachments . Lleweny #. ? * If owners of portraits, &c., would but take the trouble to write at the
Hilton brought in Pontefract, Newport, and Brierley, and thus the families of Peake and Lloyd of Aston both quarter the arms of the four last names, all which are identified in Vincent's' pedigree.
To this William and Isabella was existing in 1591 the following inscription (apparently on glass; but if on brass or stone it is probably now under some pew)*: —
Hic jacet Willm Rsondall armiger et dna Isabella Peeke" consors suus, qui obiit xxx de mensis January an dni 1414 q’ abiz p'picietur Deus.
The arms were quarterly, Rosindale' and Hilton.
Much information is to be gained from the valuable MSS. (Harl 3632) beautifully written on vellum, entitled “Extenta de Denbigh, &c., facta per Hugonem de Beckle et per recog
back of them some particulars of their history, we should not so often see property disposed of for a mere trifle, which if not from ignorance, would be truly valuable. Oak carvings, and stained glass, are often found in Elizabethean farm-houses, as they were then inhabited by gentry; and all such are worth preserving by the descendants, or in a Public collection. ! See an Interesting Memoir of this indefatigable Herald, by Sir N. H. Nicholas, 1827. * Harl. MSS. 2129. “Notes in Henllan church, Aug. 7, 1591. In the window, were the arms of the Prince of Wales, Mortimer and March, and Vernon de Hatton, and an inscription on stone, to Roger Mydelton, armiger, who died 24th Feb. 1587. . . . .” In the Harl. MS. 1971, is a copy of the Rosendale quarterings, including all taken in with the Peake alliance, impaling Dutton and Vernon, of Hatton, with a portrait, in hat and ruff, of John R., Baron of Brinfanock, which though Holmes (no judge) calls cery auntient, could not be older than Elizabeth's time; and thus not the John, son of William, 1441. And from the pedigree, no such alliance with John, living in her reign, appears, or in that of D. and W. in Ormerod's Cheshire; and as the original was in possession of Hugh Lloyd, of Denbigh, in 1635, this Baron John probably was of a younger branch. A Hugh, was sheriff of Denbigh, 1625, and died 1635; but it is clear that the Vernons were connected with Henllan parish, in some way. . . . On the other side of the same MS. (2129) are notes in Whitchurch, from which it appears that the windows were chiefly filled with glass of the Salusburys. Henry died 1493; John, son of Thom, 1489; Henry, son and heir of Ralph, 1400, and Agnes his wife, d. & h. of John Curteys. One entry is curious, “Orate f John Smallwood, mai' of Misrule with all other young men, Caused this window to be glazed.” * This name is spelled Peake as now, in the earliest family deed, 1569. * The first is azure a roebuck rampant, or; the fourth, or, a roebuck r". azure, with a rose gules on the shoulder of each. It is worthy of remark that in the arms of Rosindale, in all MSS. in the time of Elizabeth, in Vincent, on H. Lloyd's monument, and as quartered by the Lloyds of Aston, now, are quarterly four roebucks passant, counterchanged of the field or and azure, in one azure and or.
nitionem singularum villarum 8 Edw. 3".” (i.e. 1335, A.D.) Under the Manor of Kylforn," Villata de Lleweny, Parcus de Lleweny, Le Polsat in villata de Lleweny, among others appears the names of Ricardus del Peek, and Thomas’ filius Ricardi del Peek, as holding lands hereditary at from 8d. to 1s. 6d. per acre. One entry is as follows: — Item Ricardus del Peek reddit domino ex nunc per annum (&c.) pro licencia hobendi molendinum fullonicum super terram suam
propriam ita ut habeat liberationem moeremii pro dicto molendino aedificando, &c. . . . . . . . . . . . xiijs. iiijd.
As there is no other mill near, there can be but little doubt that this was the origin of the present corn mill, “Melyn” y Green,” for although in 1570 it was (with its one acre as now) the property of Sir John Salusbury, and afterwards conveyed to Peake, yet, in the course of centuries, such changes might often have taken place. A field belonging to that property is called Peake meadow to this day. And, at that time, the land between the mill and Pertheny, the residence of Peake, was open common.
This house, built about 1595, and where the family resided till 1697, appears to have derived its name from a tradition to the following effect:-"That the original grant of lands to Peake was to the extent of doe's run, and that she stopped, and cropped a bush by the wood where the house is built.” As the woods or “hollins” were open to the common, (Lleweny green) ante 1697, it appears just possible that some event of the sort took place at a very early date. There can be little doubt that this tradition was known by the family so early as 1594, and down to 1597, from the following facts: —
On a beam is incised T. P., 1594, A. [H2] On a mantle
| Cilford is near Cotton Hall, (Ordnance Map.) Pennant mentions Kylford as one of the five parks of the lordship in the time of Henry VI. An account of these parks would be desirable. * If this Thomas was then only twenty-one, and the father twenty-two when the son was born, Richard would have been born A.D. 1293. *See Ordnance Map. * This is similar to the well-known tradition as to the crest of the family of Hay, “The Falcon flying.” (See Lower's Curiosities of Heraldry, or Burke's Peerage, Errol.) The stained glass in Morley church, brought from the Monastery of Dale at the dissolution, is said to relate to a tradition that on a dispute between the monks and the keepers of Stanley Park, the King ted to the monks as much land as between two suns could be encircled with a plough drawn by deer. — Fox's Monks and Monasteries, 1845.