« PreviousContinue »
to the Edwardian period. These mounds were surmounted with works in stone or wood, and must have served rather as places of occasional retreat in case of attack, than a permanent residence. At no great distance is the last remaining one of three cromlechs which were standing in Pennant's time; and even this surviving one has within the last few years suffered the loss of one of the supporters, so that the cap-stone is now partially resting on the ground. This stone is of large size for a Welsh cromlech, measuring fourteen feet by twelve. Its thickness is, however, inconsiderable, being only fourteen inches. No traces of cups or circles could be found upon it. Still further on is another of these sepulchral monuments, not very large, but tolerably perfect, with the exception of one or two of the supporting slabs. The other supporters are of such equal dimensions that the cap-stone lies perfectly horizontal.
Criccieth Castle is more remarkable for its fine position than for size or interest. The principal apartments were in the round towers flanking the main entrance, the space enclosed by the walls of the building being an irregular trapezium. Beyond it is another court, the works continuing to the edge of the cliff. Pennant does not doubt that this was the work of some Welsh prince, and that Edward I merely cased the towers at the entrance, giving them their present round form, the interior being square. There can, however, be as little doubt that the whole of the present Castle is of Edward's work, although it is by no means improbable that some native prince may have had his castle there; which could, however, form no part of the present building, being evidently by the same hand as the portion assigned to Edward by Pennant himself. The church at Criccieth has nothing remarkable about it. It is of late Perpendicular, and good of its kind.
Time not allowing a contemplated visit to Penturc, the excursionists proceeded to Llanelhaiarn, at the foot of the mountain on which Treceiri stands. The fine incised stone found a few years ago near the churchyard, and now in the schoolroom, has been noticed by Professor Westwood (Arch. Camb., 1867, p. 342).
Pennant has given a long account of Treceiri, and illustrated it with a rude map. Mr. Parry, of Madryn, has also noticed the work and given a map of it on a smaller scale. The object of the present visit was to secure some accurate representation of some portions of the work before the work of destruction, now going on with activity, has swept them away. An account of this visit will appear shortly in the Journal. The last object visited was a cromlech close to the village of Four Crosses, and which is in tolerable preservation. It presents a peculiarity as to the size and position of the supporting stones, and which appear to have been intentional on the part of the original builders. But a more remarkable circumstance connected with it is the fact that the monument has given the name of Cromlech to the farm on which it stands, and that such has been the name of the farm from time immemorial. Rowland, the author of Mona Antiqua, is sometimes thought to have been the first to have called such chambers by this name, and he died a short time before 1723.
deeds are in existence anterior to 1700 cannot be ascertained. The farm was once a portion of the Cors-y-gedol estate, but was sold some years ago by the then owner. But whatever may be the age
of the name, it is curious that this particular monument should have given its name to the land, and that, too, in a district where among the peasants such monuments are hardly ever known by the name of cromlech.
Thus satisfactorily concluded the twenty-second meeting of the Cambrian Archäological Association.
On account of local difficulties, no temporary museum was established.
STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS OF LOCAL COMMITTEE.
£ 3. d. By Tickets sold 3 3 0 Printing
2 8 0 By Donations
1 0 0 Gas, attendance, cleaning 0 12 9 £33 3 0 Guides, churches, etc. 0 13 0
£4 13 9 28 9 3
C. C. BABINGTON, Chairman of
£33 3 0
The following gentlemen have contributed to the Local Fund up to this date, October 20, 1868 :
£ S. d. E. F. Coulson, Esq.
5 0 0 H. J. Ellis Nanney, Esq.
3 0 0 Hugh Reveley, Esq.
2 2 0 Thomas Casson, Esq.
1 11 0 John Casson, Esq.
1 1 0 F. Parry Davies, Esq.
1 1 0 Rev. J. Williams Ellis
1 1 0 Archdeacon Evans
1 1 0 Arthur Farre, Esq., M.D.
1 1 0 J. W. Greaves, Esq.
1 1 0 Samuel Griffiths, Esq.
1 ] O Samuel Holland, Esq.
1 10 R. W. Howell, Esq.
1 1 0 J. Humphreys Jones, Esq.
1 1 0 Major Matthews
1 1 0 R. Lloyd Jones Parry, Esq.
1 1 0 Capt. G. H. Owen
1 1 0 William Parry, Esq.
1 1 ( F. S. Percival, Esq.
1 1 0 H. L. Thomas, Esq.
1 1 0 T. Ignatius Williams, Esq.
1 1 T. Å. Oliver, Esq.
0 10 0
£30 0 0
ALPHABETICAL INDEX OF CONTENTS.
VOL. XIV. THIRD SERIES.
ABERDARON Church, Caernarvon. Burghill, Herefordshire, incised
stone at, 179
Anglo-Saxon and Irish MSS.,
meeting at Portmadoc,
statement of expenditure
Archæology of the Peak of Der towards, 24, 182, 345
byshire, by H. Vale; review of,95 Catholicon de Jehan Lagadeuc,
Beaumaris, free school of, and Clynnog Vawr, St. Beuno's chest
David Hughes, M.A., 95
Smith, vol. vi ; review of, 455
Cornish cromlechs, by Blight, 454
pedigree of, 342, 343
Derbyshire, archæology of the Inscribed stones, early, proper
Peak, by H. Vale; review of, 95 names on, 341 Dervel, St., figure of, 209
Interments, ancient, etc., in AnDevonshire, bells in old parish glesey and North Wales, 217
churches, by Ellacombe, 212 Dillwyn, Herefordshire, antiquities
of, 130 Dinas Mawddwy, relics of, 201 Lancashire, Wavertree, prehistoric Dorset, Warne's Celtic tumuli of, remains at, 206 notice, 94
La Tourelle, Brittany, subterra
nean chambers at, 293
Liber Landavensis, original MS. Ewyas Harold, account of, 60 of, 311
letter from the Bishop of
Llandaff, 452 Grant of fees to Lord President of Llanbadarn Fawr, Cardiganshire,
Wales, from Harl. MSS. No. mural paintings in church of, 368, 140
449 Griffith (Moses), drawings by, re
Llanddewi Brefi, Matgorn-yr-ych cent discovery of, 454
Ludlow Castle, survey, A.D. 1771, Harleian MS. No. 368, grant of 142
fees to the Lord President of Llyfr Coch Asaph, index to, 151, Wales, 140
329 Haverfordwest temp. Henry III,
transcripts from, 433 209 Hereford, ancient customs of, by
R. Johnson ; review of, 216 Hereford Meeting, correction of Margam, contribution towards a
Report of, by E. A. Freeman, cartulary of, 24, 182, 345 92
Matgorn-yr-ych Canawg, LlanHerefordshire, uncertain stone im ddewi Brefi, 85 plements, 446
Matrimonial alliances of the royal Holland arms at Conway, 344 family of England with the Hollands of Berw, Anglesey, his princes and magnates of Wales, tory of, 97
147 Holyhead Island, remains of an Mona Antiqua, cromlech at Pantcient circular habitations, 385 y Saer, 89
relics found near, 401 Holywell, Flintshire, repairs of well, etc., 343
Pant-y-Saer, Anglesey, cromlech Hughes (David), M.A., and the
at, 89 free school of Beaumaris, 95 Pembrokeshire, South, domestic Humecillus, meaning of,query, 210 architecture of, 70
Pen Caer Helen, Caernarvonshire,
208 Implements, stone, uncertain, 446 Powysland Club publications, 91 Incised stone at Burghill, Here- Proper names on early inscribed fordshire, 179
Subterranean chambers at La Tou Water-stoups in Wales and Cornrelle, Brittany, 293
wall, 166, 443 Welsh language, notice of diction
ary of, by D. S. Evans, 211, 343 Urns, sepulchral, etc., in Anglesey Williams alias Cromwell, family and North Wales, 217
pedigree, 342, 343
LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS.
Earthwork at the Moat Farm, Arwystli
75 75 77 78 79 82 83 89 97 166 166 177 178 180 183 197 202 206 217 223 225 225 226 236 238 240 241 242 244 246 248 253 254