« PreviousContinue »
perty of Mr. Talbot. King John's confirmation charter to Neath, in 1208, mentions the gift by Robert, Earl of Gloucester, and Earl William his son, of land in Blacksker to that abbey, and the gift of Thomas de Sanford of a quittance of two shillings per annum on fifty acres of land, and one acre and a half upon the sea at Blakeschen.
Richard de Kardif was a member of a well-known family in the counties of Gloucester and Glamorgan. The Golden Grove Book makes him son of Robert, and nephew of Simon de Kardif, who witnessed charter 75, A. 9. Mr. Knight cites Richard as witnessing a deed by Richard de Lucy to William Earl of Gloucester as “senescallus," 23 March 1159, and he witnessed the foundation charter of Keynsham Priory by the same earl as “ Ricardus de Card, tunc dapifer (comitis);" it further appears, from a general confirmation, 11 Edw. II, that he gave land in Mapledurham to the canons of that house [New Mon., V, 452). He also gave to Ewenny a rent charge on certain lands in England [Arch. Camb., 1853, p. 168].
A fine of 24th January, 1197, taken after his death, shews him to have left two daughters, coheirs, of whom Amabel, the elder, claimed the half of three parts of a knight's fee in Toppesfeld, and half a quarter fee in Grancenden, and half a knight's fee in Hameledenn, and half a quarter fee “in Nova-villa” (Newcastle) in Glamorgan, and half a fee in St. Hilary, and half of three hydes and of a virgate of land in Haiston. She was allowed all Nova-villa, Hameleden, and the service of Grancenden, and the hydes and virgate in Haiston, to her and her husband, Thomas de Sanford, and their heirs for ever.
Hadwise, the younger coheir, married Thomas de Bavis. They had all Toppesfeld and all St. HilaryNova-villa and St. Hilary were in Glamorgan; the other places were in Essex and Surrey (Fines temp. R 1].
In his capacity of dapifer to the Earl of Gloucester, the charter conceding to the burgesses of Neath the privileges enjoyed by those of Cardiff, was addressed to
and witnessed by Sir Richard, as appears from its recital in the confirmation charter of 20 R. II.
Meyric, quoting the now lost register of Neath Abbey, says that Sir Richard de Cardiff had thirty librates of land in Newton Nottage from Earl William, and held them as the fourth part of a knight's fee [by the tenure of castle guard at Cardiff], and the Liber Niger mentions him as holding of the earl half a fee in Wales and a whole fee in England.
It is not necessary here to pursue the pedigree of the de Cardiff family. They were of Queenhull and Walton-Cardiff in Gloucestershire, and were represented in 1369 by Edward de Kerdif and Paulinus his son, who died s. p.; and in the female line by the Bawdripps and Bassetts of Beauprè, from Joanna, heiress of Wm. de Kerdif of Walton, who died 5 Ed. III. Walton was afterwards Walton-Bassett. St. Hilary no doubt came from the Kerdif's to Bassett of Beauprè, though through what channel is not ascertained.
The date of the above document may be about 1160. It appears from it that Richard was the first of his family who settled in Glamorgan. IV.- Donatio Wrunu filii Bleth' Ecclesie de Maryan.
[M. B. Cart. Harl., 75, B. 10.] Omnibus sancte ecclesie filiis presentibus et futuris. Wrunu filius Bleth' salutem. Sciatis me consilio et consensu heredum et amicorum meorum concessisse et dedisse Deo et ecclesie Sancte Marie de Margan et monachis ibidem deo serventibus totam meam partem terre de Killeculin scilicet quartam partem terre illius cum omnibus aisiamentis et pertinentiis in puram et perpetuam elemosinam ut habeant et teneant eam liberam et quietam ab omni servitio et consuetudine et exactione seculari sicut ulla elemosina liberius haberi et teneri potest. Et sciendum quod si aliquod servitium vel redditus ad coquinam Comitis vel ad aliud aliquod requiratur de predicta terra ego et heredes mei illud faciemus de hereditate nostra de Traikic ita ut predicta terra libera penitus et quieta prefatis monachis remaneat in perpetuum. Notandum etiam quod super sanctuaria ecclesie prescripte juravimus ad warantizandum hanc cartam predictis monachis contra omnes homines in perpetuum. Hiis testibus, Waltero de Sul' tunc Vicecomite de Glamorg'. Er
naldo constabulario de Kenef'. Stephano clerico. Ricardo de Dunest. Osmundo Cuman. David filio Hely. Alaythu filio Ythen. Reso Coh, et multis aliis. [Circa 1190.]
This charter is certainly earlier than 1205, although its donation does not appear to be included in King John's confirmation. Wrunu or Grono ap Bleth is elsewere unknown, and Killeculin and Trakic with the tenure “ad coquinam comitis,” cannot now be discovered. Walter de Sully, the vicecomes, was a member of a well known family of Devonshire origin, whose memory is preserved in the parish, manor, and ruined castle of Sully, upon the coast a few miles west of Cardiff.
Meyric makes their founder Raymond de Sully, a follower of Fitzhamon, and mentions Walter, Raymond, and Meyric de Sully as occurring in the register of Neath Abbey.
Walter occurs in the fine rolls in 1199 for Gloucestershire as paying ten bezants to have recognizance of half a virgate of land at Winchecumb [Rot. de obľ. et fin., p. 25). Also in the same year he gave to King John twenty marcs and a horse of equal value to have justice concerning a knight's fee in Coyty against Payn de Turbervile, and that the cause 'may be called on in the great court, and be not hindered by the King [Ibid. p. 70). The bribe was partially effectual, for in 1200-1 Payn gave four marcs for the saving of a day fixed for him at Westminster, when he was not present in his suit before the king against Walter de Sully concerning a knight's fee in Coyty [p. 138].
Six years later, 1207, the same record mentions Walter as giving twenty marks for a quit-claim from the king for the deterioration and ruin of the king's mill at Leckwith, and for damage of the king's rents and multure whilst the mill was in Walter's custody, probably as sheriff, and he has the royal letters patent allowing him the quit-claim sought.
“ GLANMORGAN.– Walterus de Sully dat viginti marcas ut Dominus Rex eum quietum clamet (de) deterioramento et
ruina molendini Domini Regis de Lequid et de jactura redditus Domini Regis et molture sue dum molendinum illud fuit in custodia ipsius Walteri, et quod non distringatur ad capiendum de cetero molend' illud ad firmam, ita scilicet quod idem Walterus reperiet predictum molendinum de eo quod deterioratum fuit. Et etc literas d. R. patentes quod dominus Rex de predictis eum quietum clamavit sicut predictum.” [R. de fin. p. 391.]
Walter also tested a charter by Isabel Countess of Gloucester and Essex, between 1199 and 1210. He seems to have been succeeded by a Raymond de Sully who tested charters 75 D. 14 of 1217; 75 B. 14 of about 1230 ; 75 B. 9 of about 1234; and 75 B. 19 of about 1250.
There was also another Walter who tested 75 B. 17 of about 1260 ; and another Raymond, party to a deed 75 B. 22, in 1302.
Local traditions tell of a Sir John de Sully, a crusader of renown, who brought home a very large sum in gold, in which it was his fancy to roll, and of which he gave one part to his wife, one to the poor, and one to his officers and tenants.
The Sullys were also of Edesleigh, Devon, and of Esse-Reigny, by the names of Walter, Raymond, John, and Henry. [Pole, Devon, pp. 20, 83, 274, 380.] Their arms are differently given, “ Ermine, three chevrons gules," no doubt as de Clare retainers, also “Argent, a chevron gules, an annulet or.”
They were allied to Umfravill, of Penmark, and their heiress in Glamorgan married Avene.
Rees Coh was probably father of Rees Coh, junior, of the charter 75 B. 40, where Owen ap Alaythen appears among the witnesses, 1234-40. V.- Donacio Reueri filii Grieberti Burdini.
| 75 B. 27.] Sciant omnes presentes et futuri quod ego Reuerus filius Gileberti Burdini et ego Gaufridus et Willielmus frater meus filii ejusdem Burdini concedimus donationem quam dedit pater noster ecclesie de Margan in perpetuam elemosinam pro anima sua scilicet terram que vocatur montan’de laholemicdwe
videlicet decem acras cum prato sibi adjacente et quia cartam eis super hac donatione voluerit sigillare sed preventus morte non potuit ejus donationem nos filii ejus sigillo ejus firmavimus et concedimus eis imperpetuum terram illam liberam et quietam ab omni servitio et seculari exactione. Testibus Rogero Cellarario et fratre Jordano et Glou presbitero Nove ville. Johanne filio Chenetwini. Michaelo de Cheinessam. Rogero Sturmi. Qui omnes audierunt divisam Gileberti dum adhuc viveret. Waltero Lunello. Toma de Corneli. Willielmo Dona natura qui audierunt nos concedere patris nostri donationem hanc. [Circa 1200.)
Seal of red wax, chipped at bottom-an oval about three inches long. In the centre a man habited in a dress girded at the waist and open at the neck, on his head a peaked cap. His left hand extended, and in it a small tree. Legend “Sigillum.... i Bordini."
VI.-Carta Hugonis de Lancarvan.
[Coll. Topog. et Genealog. v. 19.] Dilecto Patri suo W. Dei gratia Landavensi Episcopo et omnibus sancte Ecclesie filiis ad quos presens scriptum pervenerit salutem. Notum facio universitate vestre me dedisse et prefata carta mea confirmasse Deo et beate Marie et Monachis de Margan in liberam et perpetuam elemosinam consilio et consensu amicorum meorum et conjugis et domini Henrici de Humfravill unam acram terre ad auxilium fabricande capelle in honorem Sancti Meuthini apud grangiam eorum quod vocatur Lantmeuthin. Que videlicet acra jacet juxta terram quam eis preter dederam in xxx acras ad australem partem ut ipsi videlicet Monachi habeant predictam acram libere et quiete ab omni servitio et seculari exactione in perpetuum pro salute anime mee et uxoris et domini mei et antecessorum et successorum, Testibus Rogero Cellarario et Godefrido Monacho de Margan Auel Sacerdote de Sancto Hilario Waltero Capellano de Lantcarvan Fratre Witsare et Ricardo Terre [et] Waltero Rufo Conversis de Margan Margeria conjuge mea Rogero Cole.
It is evident from John's confirmation of 1205 that the grantor of this charter was Hugh of Llancarvan. The handwriting is of the thirteenth century, but William was a common name with the Bishops of Llandaff. William de Salso Marisco, consecrated 1185, died about 1191. William, Prior of Goldcliffe, Consec. Oct. 1219, died 1299. William de Burgh, King's Chaplain,